solidworks pdm

How to Configure a Computer to be a PDM Task Host

The PDM Tasks feature (for SOLIDWORKS PDM Professional only) allows you to configure, run, and monitor automated tasks that you would normally perform manually in your PDM vault, such as convert, design checker, and print tasks for use with SOLIDWORKS files.

How to Setup a Dedicated Unattended Task Host

The PDM Tasks feature (for SOLIDWORKS PDM Professional only) allows you to configure, run, and monitor automated tasks that you would normally perform manually in your PDM vault, such as convert, design checker, and print tasks for use with SOLIDWORKS files. This procedure allows a completely unattended computer like a server to reliably perform this role.

How to Configure the SOLIDWORKS PDM Local HOSTS file to Resolve Server Name

By default, SOLIDWORKS PDM client is set to connect using the server name. DNS lookup will resolve the IP address and communicate with the server. In most environments, the DNS server configuration will resolve quickly and not cause issues. If the DNS server cannot resolve the IP address or there is latency, VPN for example, clients may experience issues.

PDM Server move checklist

SOLIDWORKS PDM Connectivity Test Tool

SOLIDWORKS PDM relies on several components to communicate as expected between clients and the servers. If a client cannot communicate with the server, the user will experience errors and be unable to log into PDM. To help troubleshoot connection behavior, SOLIDWORKS has created a connectovity test tool to test the connection between the client and the server.

How to Reset Web2 Authentication in IIS

When a SOLIDWORKS PDM user is created in the vault, the user is stored in the PDM database and Windows registry on the archive server. When a user is deleted using the SOLIDWORKS PDM Administration tool, the user is removed from the PDM database, though the user is still listed when adding new users since the information exists in the registry on the archive server to be added again or to a new vault.

How to Delete a PDM User Completely

When a SOLIDWORKS PDM user is created in the vault, the user is stored in the PDM database and Windows registry on the archive server. When a user is deleted using the SOLIDWORKS PDM Administration tool, the user is removed from the PDM database, though the user is still listed when adding new users since the information exists in the registry on the archive server to be added again or to a new vault.

Scroll to Top