-
Installation, Licensing & Deployment
-
- SOLIDWORKS Individual Installation
- How to Modify Your SOLIDWORKS Installation
- How to Repair Your SOLIDWORKS Installation
- Performing a Clean Uninstall
- How to Quickly Update SOLIDWORKS to a Newer Service Pack
- How to Upgrade SOLIDWORKS Standard to Professional or Premium
- How to Install Multiple Versions of SOLIDWORKS on One Computer
-
- SOLIDWORKS SolidNetwork License Manager Overview
- How to Install SolidNetwork License Manager
- How to Set Up and Manage SOLIDWORKS Network Licensing
- How to Upgrade SolidNetWork License Manager
- Moving from SOLIDWORKS Standalone to Network Licenses
- Use Options File to Reserve Licenses for Specific Users
- Reserve Licenses with Options File
- SOLIDWORKS SolidNetWork License Order Guide
- How to Reactivate SOLIDWORKS Network Licenses
- How to Move the SOLIDWORKS SolidNetWork License Manager to a New Server
- How to add or remove network serial numbers
- Windows Firewall Exceptions for SOLIDWORKS Network Based Products
- How to Perform a Clean Reinstall of SolidNetWork License manager (SNL)
- How to Find and Review the SOLIDWORKS SolidNetWork License Manager Log File
-
- DraftSight Enterprise - Admin Image Creation
- SOLIDWORKS Electrical Install and Upgrade Guide
- How to Install and Configure SOLIDWORKS Visualize Boost
- How to Install eDrawings
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS Composer
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS Inspection
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS Visualize
- How To Install SOLIDWORKS Routing Add-In
- How to Perform a Clean Reinstall of DraftSight
- DraftSight System Requirements
- How to Install DraftSight
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS MBD
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS Simulation Products
-
- How to Request a Manual Download for SOLIDWORKS
- How to Resolve Windows Reboot is Pending
- SOLIDWORKS Installation Log Files
- Troubleshooting SOLIDWORKS Installation Issues
- Why Users Need Local Admin Rights to Install SOLIDWORKS
- “A Newer Version of This Product is Already Installed” Error when Installing SOLIDWORKS
- Blank SOLIDWORKS Installation Manager - Resolution
- “The Source Folder Is Not Versioned Properly…” Error when Modifying Serial Number
- How to Reset DraftSight Settings to Resolve Unexpected Behavior
-
Customer Portal & Resources
- SOLIDWORKS and 3DEXPERIENCE Customer Portal Directory
- How to Register MySolidworks Professional Serial Number
- SOLIDWORKS Customer Portal Replaced by DSx Client Care
- How to Add Contacts and Assign Roles in DSx Client Care - 3DEXPERIENCE
- MyProducts.solidworks.com Overview
- How to Get FREE Certification Testing with an Active Subscription
- 3DS SOLIDWORKS Knowledge Base
-
SOLIDWORKS
-
- How To Upgrade SOLIDWORKS Toolbox Manually
- How to Turn Off the SOLIDWORKS Toolbox Flag
- How to Add Custom Parts to SOLIDWORKS Toolbox
- How to Install, Move, or Recreate the SOLIDWORKS Toolbox
- SOLIDWORKS Toolbox Settings Overview
- How to Create a New Default SOLIDWORKS Toolbox or Hole Wizard Folder
- How to Move SOLIDWORKS Toolbox to a Shared Network Directory
-
- How to Adjust Annotation Formatting and Spacing
- How to turn off drawing detail mode data
- SOLIDWORKS Performance Evaluation - DRAWINGS
- Apply Sheet Format to New Sheets Automatically
- Difference Between Drawing Templates and Sheet Formats
- SOLIDWORKS Multi-sheet Custom Properties Source
- How to set the base scale when exporting DXF/DXG Drawings from SOLIDWORKS
-
- How to Update SOLIDWORKS File Locations After Upgrading
- SOLIDWORKS Composer Backup Options
- How to create SOLIDWORKS Part, Assembly, and Drawing Templates
- SOLIDWORKS Administration Overview
- Utilizing Cloud Storage with SOLIDWORKS
- How to Use Save As with References
- How to Use SOLIDWORKS Pack and Go
- SOLIDWORKS Backup and Recovery System Options
- SOLIDWORKS Copy Settings Wizard
- Understanding SOLIDWORKS Settings and Templates
- How to Ensure that You are Running a SOLIDWORKS Certified Graphics Card Driver
- SOLIDWORKS Export Formats Explained: STEP vs Parasolid
- SOLIDWORKS Circular References and How to Find Them
- How to Improve SOLIDWORKS Performance Using Feature Freeze
-
- Essential SOLIDWORKS Hotkeys and Shortcuts
- SOLIDWORKS Search Routine Order
- Viewing SOLIDWORKS Configurations in eDrawings
- How to Create a Custom Material in SOLIDWORKS
- Accessing Xpress Tools
- How to Enable or Disable SOLIDWORKS Add-ins
- Rebuild Types and How They Work
- Save As Previous SOLIDWORKS Version Files
- SOLIDWORKS 3D Interconnect Options
- SOLIDWORKS How to Display Dimensions as Fractions
- Where Used with SOLIDWORKS File Utilities
- SOLIDWORKS Keyboard/Mouse Shortcut Reference
- Non-Matching Internal ID
- How to Delete Faces in SOLIDWORKS
-
- Correcting foreign language characters in the FeatureManager Tree
- Could not obtain a license for SOLIDWORKS CAM. Invalid (inconsistent) license key
- "Error obtaining License (-85, 147, 0)"
- How to Collect CXPAs
- How To Correct The "Default Templates Are Not Valid" Error
- How to Force SOLIDWORKS to Use Your Graphics Card
- How To Reset SOLIDWORKS Registry
- How to Restore Dismissed SOLIDWORKS Messages
- Resolution to Common File Location Errors
- Resolve "Sheet Format Could Not Be Located"
- Restore Your File Associations
- How to Troubleshoot Graphical Issues
- Troubleshooting Weldment Cut List Consolidation
- SOLIDWORKS Tech Tip: Correcting Symbol Library Location
- SOLIDWORKS Journal File Could Not Be Created
- SOLIDWORKS login Manager Error and How to Fix It
- CEF for SOLIDWORKS Error and How to Fix It
- SOLIDWORKS Document Manager Library is Invalid and How to Fix It
- How to Find Windows Event Logs for Technical Support
- Show all articles ( 4 ) Collapse Articles
-
- SOLIDWORKS RX - The Ultimate CAD Diagnostic Tool
- SOLIDWORKS Safe Modes
- How to Change the SOLIDWORKS Language
- How to Modify the Reference/Update Dialog Dismissal Time
- How to Run SOLIDWORKS with Administrator Permissions
- SOLIDWORKS Educational Resources
- Automate File Exports with Task Scheduler
- Default SOLIDWORKS File Locations
- How to Add Fonts in SOLIDWORKS
- How To Tell Who Has a SOLIDWORKS File Open
- SOLIDWORKS Performance Evaluation - Assemblies
- SOLIDWORKS Performance Evaluation - Parts
- SOLIDWORKS ProgramData Location and Visibility
-
-
3DEXPERIENCE
-
- Moving Your Local Work Folder for 3DEXPERIENCE
- 3DEXPERIENCE Local Cache and How to Manage It
- Storing SOLIDWORKS Templates on 3DEXPERIENCE Platform
- How to Delete Files and Objects in 3DEXPERIENCE Collaborative Spaces
- How to Export as 3DEXPERIENCE Package File and Share
- How to Import a Package File with 3DEXPERIENCE Exchange Add-in
- Work Offline in 3DEXPERIENCE
-
- How to Use 3DEXPERIENCE Troubleshooting Machine for Web
- 3DEXPERIENCE Connection Status and How to Fix It
- How to Disable 3DEXPERIENCE Login Prompt in SOLIDWORKS
- How To Update Browser Security Settings for 3DEXPERIENCE Launcher
- How To Resolve 3DEXPERIENCE SOLIDWORKS Unable to Retrieve Install Data Error
-
PDM
-
- PDM License Type Matrix
- PDM Automatic Login Options
- Create Local Vault View Shortcut
- PDM Gray Folders and Local Files
- PDM - What are Private State Files?
- Difference Between Versions and Revisions
- What's The Difference Between PDM Local Version and Revision Variable
- PDM - What are Version Free Variables?
- What is a Drawing Node in PDM?
- Difference Between Delete and Destroy in PDM
- PDM How to Work in Off-line Mode
- How to Install PDM Client Software
- Create Local Vault View
- Create Local PDM Vault View Using .cvs File
- ___SOLIDWORKS PDM / Manage Installation Guide (PDF)
- Install Microsoft SQL 2019 for PDM Professional
- PDM Server Recommendations
- Understanding Save, Check In, and Get Latest Version in SOLIDWORKS PDM
- Show all articles ( 3 ) Collapse Articles
-
- How to Use PDM Move Tree
- How to Use PDM Copy Tree
- How To Overwrite Latest PDM Version
- Updating File References in PDM
- Copy and Paste as Reference in PDM
- PDM Branch and Merge Overview
- Selecting Child References Automatically in SOLIDWORKS PDM
- SOLIDWORKS Settings for PDM File Import
- PDM How to Rollback a File to a Previous Version
- PDM Undo Check Out of Files by Other User
- Unable to Delete Files from the PDM Vault
- How to Update Values from a PDM Folder to Multiple Files
- What are Virtual Documents in SOLIDWORKS PDM?
- SOLIDWORKS Strategies for Using the File Version Upgrade Tool (FVUT)
- PDM File Version Upgrade Tool
- How to Upgrade SOLIDWORKS Toolbox in PDM - AUTOMATICALLY
- How to Upgrade SOLIDWORKS Toolbox in PDM - MANUALLY
- PDM File Version Icons and What They Mean
- How to Determine the Number of Files in PDM
- Show all articles ( 4 ) Collapse Articles
-
- Exporting and Importing PDM Vault Settings
- How to Change PDM Date Formatting
- How to Control Get Version Commands
- How to Setup Toolbox in PDM - SOLIDWORKS
- PDM Cold Storage and How To Use It
- PDM Setting Cache Options Automatically
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Warning Settings
- What are PDM File Categories and How to Change Them
- How to Block Log-ins for PDM Vault Maintenance
- Hide When Sibling Parallel Transition is Chosen
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Child Reference State Conditions
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS PDM Standard
- How to Create a SANDBOX Vault for Testing SOLIDWORKS PDM
- How To Relocate An Existing SOLIDWORKS Vault View To Another Drive
- PDM Upgrade Checklist
- How to Add SOLIDWORKS Routing Library to a PDM Vault
- PDM Vault Size Management Options
- Show all articles ( 2 ) Collapse Articles
-
- PDM Administrators: Roles and Responsibilities
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Admin User Explained (System Administrator)
- How to Export PDM User List
- How to Delete a PDM User Completely
- How to Restore Deleted SOLIDWORKS PDM Users
- Ignore Permissions in Previous States and When to use it
- PDM Web2 Download Permissions
- How to Reset Your SOLIDWORKS PDM Admin Password
- How to Create New PDM Users
- How to Create New PDM Windows Users
- How to Change PDM Login Type
- How to Change a PDM User Password
- How to Transfer Ownership of PDM Files
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Permissions Required to View Files in a Vault
-
- PDM Task List and How to Use It to Monitor Tasks
- How to Clear Pending Tasks in PDM
- How to Configure a Computer to be a PDM Task Host
- How to Setup a Dedicated Unattended Task Host
- Troubleshooting SOLIDWORKS PDM Tasks
- How to Resolve “Workflow States Exceeds Permissible Limit” - SOLIDWORKS
- How to Resolve The Current SOLIDWORKS Task Add-in is Unsupported
-
- PDM Backup Procedures
- SOLIDWORKS PDM: Moving Server Components - Checklist
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Connectivity Test Tool
- How to Configure the Local HOSTS file to Resolve Server Name
- How to Test PDM Connection with a Ping Test
- Adding a PDM Vault View with a Windows Azure Active Directory Account
- How to reset the SQL password for the PDM Vault SQL Server
- Update Credentials for PDM Archive Server
- Update Credentials for PDM Database Server
- How To Relocate Vault Archive Folders To Another Drive
- How to use PDM Database Upgrade Tool
- Change SQL Server License
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Cleaner Service and How it Works
- How to Create ODBC Connection for SOLIDWORKS PDM Manually
- How to Change SOLIDWORKS PDM Database Recovery Model
- How to Shrink the SOLIDWORKS PDM SQL Transaction Log
- Show all articles ( 1 ) Collapse Articles
-
- How to Upgrade SOLIDWORKS PDM Add-ins
- How to manually install SOLIDWORKS PDM Microsoft Office Add-in
- How to Reregister Add-ins for PDM Clients
- How to Clear Local Cache in a SOLIDWORKS PDM Local Vault View and Why
- How to Change PDM Client License Type after Installation
- How to Perform a Clean Reinstall of SOLIDWORKS PDM Client
- Understanding Differences between PDM Clients
-
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Enter a Valid Account for this Resource
- How to Delete or Recreate a Local Vault View
- How to manually remove a disconnected PDM Vault View
- Troubleshooting PDM Notifications
- How to Resolve Invalid Class Error for eDrawings and PDM Preview
- How to Reset Web2 Authentication in IIS
- Common SOLIDWORKS PDM License Errors and How to Resolve Them
- How to Identify Your SOLIDWORKS PDM Infrastructure
- SOLIDWORKS PDM File Remains Read-Only After Check Out
-
-
Simulation
-
- Do I Need Non-linear Simulation?
- How to Choose a SOLIDWORKS Simulation Solver
- Getting Started with Simulation
- Important Mesh Theory to Accurately Run your Finite Element Analysis Simulations
- Is SOLIDWORKS Simulation Accurate?
- Which Type of Elements Should I Use?
- SOLIDWORKS Simulation Meshing Guide
- The Basics of Setting Up a Study in Simulation
-
- Setting Up Default Options for SOLIDWORKS Simulation
- Submodeling Studies – The What, Why, & How of Using Them in SOLIDWORKS Simulation
- How to add Hydrostatic Load
- What To Do When you get the “Excessive Displacement” Warning in SOLIDWORKS Simulation
- How to Create Temperature Dependent Custom Materials in SOLIDWORKS Simulation
- How to Duplicate and Reuse Simulation Study Data
- How to Export Flow Simulation Results to Import into FEA
- Automatically Refine Your Mesh Using H-adaptive Meshing | SOLIDWORKS
-
Utilizing Cloud Storage In A Multi-User Environment
The best practice for working with SOLIDWORKS files in a multi-user environment is to utilize PDM to manage data. PDM provides a number of benefits beyond simply managing files and avoiding version conflicts between users. If you are unable to implement PDM currently, you may find some advantages to using cloud-based storage such as OneDrive, Google Drive, Dropbox, etc. versus a network drive.
The challenge to using network drives for sharing CAD files is network congestion. If network interruptions occur during the save process it can leave files in an unrecoverable state. Cloud storage and PDM both copy files to local directories for editing and then copy them back to the central location once files are updated.
There are a few important considerations to using cloud-based storage systems which need to be addressed to avoid confusion and file version conflicts. By default, most cloud storage systems will check to see if a file has been modified by another computer before updating the cloud data with a modified local copy. If it detects a possible conflict the filename will typically be saved with a modified filename. For example, OneDrive automatically appends “-<computername>” to filenames to indicate which version was modified by which computer. This can lead to broken references as well as confusion as to which file is the most up to date version.
Best Practices Sharing Files with Cloud Sync
In order to avoid issues, it is recommended to take the following steps for all computers that will be accessing CAD files:
1 Use a Local Common Directory
Ensure CAD files are stored in the same local directory – SOLIDWORKS will attempt to find referenced files for assemblies and drawings from the original folder path that they were saved in. Use a common folder path such as “C:\CAD-Data\” to avoid broken references. The best option is to set the storage location for your cloud storage to a non-user specific folder such as “C:\CAD-Data\” rather than the default location which is typically “C:\Users\<username>\...”
If you already have folders created in your cloud storage solution, an alternative method is to use mklink to create a virtual Directory Junction from your cloud storage folder to a virtual folder. The format for the mklink command is:
mklink /j [Link Folder] [Target Folder]
See the following documentation from Microsoft for the mklink command: https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-server/administration/windows-commands/mklink
The mklink command can be executed in a Command Prompt window, this example is typical for OneDrive for Business, but you will need to adjust the paths as needed for your specific situation:
mklink /j "C:\CAD-Data" "%UserProfile%\OneDrive - MLC CAD Systems\CAD-Data"
2 Disable Syncing While Working
Disable Syncing while working on SOLIDWORKS files to avoid sharing conflicts with the sync utility.
3 Enable Multi-User Collaboration
System Options > Collaboration, enable the option Enable multi-user environment as shown
NOTE: For more information on Collaboration options refer to the SOLIDWORKS Online Help: Collaboration Options
4 External References Settings
System Options > External References
Enable: “Open referenced documents with read-only access”
This causes sub-components of assemblies or drawings from being opened in read-only mode by default to avoid inadvertent changes from being written to those files.
Enable: “Don’t prompt to save read-only referenced documents (discard changes)”
This eliminates the need to unselect all sub-components of an assembly or drawing when some components are opened as read-only.
Working in Collaboration Mode
The Collaboration options adds a pair of context-sensitive options to the File menu. The first option will display differently depending on the current read/write access for the selected file.
- Make Read-Only – If a file is opened with write access, you can use the File -> Make Read-Only command to change the access to read only.
- Get Write Access – If a file is opened as read-only, you can use the File -> Get Write Access to re-open the file for editing.
This is useful if you have multiple people working on different parts within an assembly and/or working on drawings of those parts/assemblies.
The File -> Reload command is a useful tool to view the status of file references. Click the “Show References” button to show all sub-components that are loaded in memory.
You can now review which files have been modified, change access from Read Only to Write access or vise versa and choose which files to reload:
For more information on the Reload tool refer to the SOLIDWORKS Online Help: Reload Tool: https://help.solidworks.com/2022/english/Solidworks/sldworks/HIDD_FILE_RELOAD_MULTIPLE.htm?rid=139090
Technical Support
If you have any questions or experience unexpected behavior, feel free to reach out to MLC CAD Systems technical support.