-
Installation, Licensing & Deployment
-
- SOLIDWORKS Individual Installation
- How to Modify Your SOLIDWORKS Installation
- How to Repair Your SOLIDWORKS Installation
- Performing a Clean Uninstall
- How to Quickly Update SOLIDWORKS to a Newer Service Pack
- How to Upgrade SOLIDWORKS Standard to Professional or Premium
- How to Install Multiple Versions of SOLIDWORKS on One Computer
-
- SOLIDWORKS SolidNetwork License Manager Overview
- How to Install SolidNetwork License Manager
- How to Set Up and Manage SOLIDWORKS Network Licensing
- How to Upgrade SolidNetWork License Manager
- Moving from SOLIDWORKS Standalone to Network Licenses
- Use Options File to Reserve Licenses for Specific Users
- Reserve Licenses with Options File
- SOLIDWORKS SolidNetWork License Order Guide
- How to Reactivate SOLIDWORKS Network Licenses
- How to Move the SOLIDWORKS SolidNetWork License Manager to a New Server
- How to add or remove network serial numbers
- Windows Firewall Exceptions for SOLIDWORKS Network Based Products
- How to Perform a Clean Reinstall of SolidNetWork License manager (SNL)
- How to Find and Review the SOLIDWORKS SolidNetWork License Manager Log File
-
- DraftSight Enterprise - Admin Image Creation
- SOLIDWORKS Electrical Install and Upgrade Guide
- How to Install and Configure SOLIDWORKS Visualize Boost
- How to Install eDrawings
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS Composer
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS Inspection
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS Visualize
- How To Install SOLIDWORKS Routing Add-In
- How to Perform a Clean Reinstall of DraftSight
- DraftSight System Requirements
- How to Install DraftSight
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS MBD
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS Simulation Products
-
- How to Request a Manual Download for SOLIDWORKS
- How to Resolve Windows Reboot is Pending
- SOLIDWORKS Installation Log Files
- Troubleshooting SOLIDWORKS Installation Issues
- Why Users Need Local Admin Rights to Install SOLIDWORKS
- “A Newer Version of This Product is Already Installed” Error when Installing SOLIDWORKS
- Blank SOLIDWORKS Installation Manager - Resolution
- “The Source Folder Is Not Versioned Properly…” Error when Modifying Serial Number
- How to Reset DraftSight Settings to Resolve Unexpected Behavior
-
Customer Portal & Resources
- SOLIDWORKS and 3DEXPERIENCE Customer Portal Directory
- How to Register MySolidworks Professional Serial Number
- SOLIDWORKS Customer Portal Replaced by DSx Client Care
- How to Add Contacts and Assign Roles in DSx Client Care - 3DEXPERIENCE
- MyProducts.solidworks.com Overview
- How to Get FREE Certification Testing with an Active Subscription
- 3DS SOLIDWORKS Knowledge Base
-
SOLIDWORKS
-
- How To Upgrade SOLIDWORKS Toolbox Manually
- How to Turn Off the SOLIDWORKS Toolbox Flag
- How to Add Custom Parts to SOLIDWORKS Toolbox
- How to Install, Move, or Recreate the SOLIDWORKS Toolbox
- SOLIDWORKS Toolbox Settings Overview
- How to Create a New Default SOLIDWORKS Toolbox or Hole Wizard Folder
- How to Move SOLIDWORKS Toolbox to a Shared Network Directory
-
- How to Adjust Annotation Formatting and Spacing
- How to turn off drawing detail mode data
- SOLIDWORKS Performance Evaluation - DRAWINGS
- Apply Sheet Format to New Sheets Automatically
- Difference Between Drawing Templates and Sheet Formats
- SOLIDWORKS Multi-sheet Custom Properties Source
- How to set the base scale when exporting DXF/DXG Drawings from SOLIDWORKS
-
- How to Update SOLIDWORKS File Locations After Upgrading
- SOLIDWORKS Composer Backup Options
- How to create SOLIDWORKS Part, Assembly, and Drawing Templates
- SOLIDWORKS Administration Overview
- Utilizing Cloud Storage with SOLIDWORKS
- How to Use Save As with References
- How to Use SOLIDWORKS Pack and Go
- SOLIDWORKS Backup and Recovery System Options
- SOLIDWORKS Copy Settings Wizard
- Understanding SOLIDWORKS Settings and Templates
- How to Ensure that You are Running a SOLIDWORKS Certified Graphics Card Driver
- SOLIDWORKS Export Formats Explained: STEP vs Parasolid
- SOLIDWORKS Circular References and How to Find Them
- How to Improve SOLIDWORKS Performance Using Feature Freeze
-
- Essential SOLIDWORKS Hotkeys and Shortcuts
- SOLIDWORKS Search Routine Order
- Viewing SOLIDWORKS Configurations in eDrawings
- How to Create a Custom Material in SOLIDWORKS
- Accessing Xpress Tools
- How to Enable or Disable SOLIDWORKS Add-ins
- Rebuild Types and How They Work
- Save As Previous SOLIDWORKS Version Files
- SOLIDWORKS 3D Interconnect Options
- SOLIDWORKS How to Display Dimensions as Fractions
- Where Used with SOLIDWORKS File Utilities
- SOLIDWORKS Keyboard/Mouse Shortcut Reference
- Non-Matching Internal ID
- How to Delete Faces in SOLIDWORKS
-
- Correcting foreign language characters in the FeatureManager Tree
- Could not obtain a license for SOLIDWORKS CAM. Invalid (inconsistent) license key
- "Error obtaining License (-85, 147, 0)"
- How to Collect CXPAs
- How To Correct The "Default Templates Are Not Valid" Error
- How to Force SOLIDWORKS to Use Your Graphics Card
- How To Reset SOLIDWORKS Registry
- How to Restore Dismissed SOLIDWORKS Messages
- Resolution to Common File Location Errors
- Resolve "Sheet Format Could Not Be Located"
- Restore Your File Associations
- How to Troubleshoot Graphical Issues
- Troubleshooting Weldment Cut List Consolidation
- SOLIDWORKS Tech Tip: Correcting Symbol Library Location
- SOLIDWORKS Journal File Could Not Be Created
- SOLIDWORKS login Manager Error and How to Fix It
- CEF for SOLIDWORKS Error and How to Fix It
- SOLIDWORKS Document Manager Library is Invalid and How to Fix It
- How to Find Windows Event Logs for Technical Support
- Show all articles ( 4 ) Collapse Articles
-
- SOLIDWORKS RX - The Ultimate CAD Diagnostic Tool
- SOLIDWORKS Safe Modes
- How to Change the SOLIDWORKS Language
- How to Modify the Reference/Update Dialog Dismissal Time
- How to Run SOLIDWORKS with Administrator Permissions
- SOLIDWORKS Educational Resources
- Automate File Exports with Task Scheduler
- Default SOLIDWORKS File Locations
- How to Add Fonts in SOLIDWORKS
- How To Tell Who Has a SOLIDWORKS File Open
- SOLIDWORKS Performance Evaluation - Assemblies
- SOLIDWORKS Performance Evaluation - Parts
- SOLIDWORKS ProgramData Location and Visibility
-
-
3DEXPERIENCE
-
- Moving Your Local Work Folder for 3DEXPERIENCE
- 3DEXPERIENCE Local Cache and How to Manage It
- Storing SOLIDWORKS Templates on 3DEXPERIENCE Platform
- How to Delete Files and Objects in 3DEXPERIENCE Collaborative Spaces
- How to Export as 3DEXPERIENCE Package File and Share
- How to Import a Package File with 3DEXPERIENCE Exchange Add-in
- Work Offline in 3DEXPERIENCE
-
- How to Use 3DEXPERIENCE Troubleshooting Machine for Web
- 3DEXPERIENCE Connection Status and How to Fix It
- How to Disable 3DEXPERIENCE Login Prompt in SOLIDWORKS
- How To Update Browser Security Settings for 3DEXPERIENCE Launcher
- How To Resolve 3DEXPERIENCE SOLIDWORKS Unable to Retrieve Install Data Error
-
PDM
-
- PDM License Type Matrix
- PDM Automatic Login Options
- Create Local Vault View Shortcut
- PDM Gray Folders and Local Files
- PDM - What are Private State Files?
- Difference Between Versions and Revisions
- What's The Difference Between PDM Local Version and Revision Variable
- PDM - What are Version Free Variables?
- What is a Drawing Node in PDM?
- Difference Between Delete and Destroy in PDM
- PDM How to Work in Off-line Mode
- How to Install PDM Client Software
- Create Local Vault View
- Create Local PDM Vault View Using .cvs File
- ___SOLIDWORKS PDM / Manage Installation Guide (PDF)
- Install Microsoft SQL 2019 for PDM Professional
- PDM Server Recommendations
- Understanding Save, Check In, and Get Latest Version in SOLIDWORKS PDM
- Show all articles ( 3 ) Collapse Articles
-
- How to Use PDM Move Tree
- How to Use PDM Copy Tree
- How To Overwrite Latest PDM Version
- Updating File References in PDM
- Copy and Paste as Reference in PDM
- PDM Branch and Merge Overview
- Selecting Child References Automatically in SOLIDWORKS PDM
- SOLIDWORKS Settings for PDM File Import
- PDM How to Rollback a File to a Previous Version
- PDM Undo Check Out of Files by Other User
- Unable to Delete Files from the PDM Vault
- How to Update Values from a PDM Folder to Multiple Files
- What are Virtual Documents in SOLIDWORKS PDM?
- SOLIDWORKS Strategies for Using the File Version Upgrade Tool (FVUT)
- PDM File Version Upgrade Tool
- How to Upgrade SOLIDWORKS Toolbox in PDM - AUTOMATICALLY
- How to Upgrade SOLIDWORKS Toolbox in PDM - MANUALLY
- PDM File Version Icons and What They Mean
- How to Determine the Number of Files in PDM
- Show all articles ( 4 ) Collapse Articles
-
- Exporting and Importing PDM Vault Settings
- How to Change PDM Date Formatting
- How to Control Get Version Commands
- How to Setup Toolbox in PDM - SOLIDWORKS
- PDM Cold Storage and How To Use It
- PDM Setting Cache Options Automatically
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Warning Settings
- What are PDM File Categories and How to Change Them
- How to Block Log-ins for PDM Vault Maintenance
- Hide When Sibling Parallel Transition is Chosen
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Child Reference State Conditions
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS PDM Standard
- How to Create a SANDBOX Vault for Testing SOLIDWORKS PDM
- How To Relocate An Existing SOLIDWORKS Vault View To Another Drive
- PDM Upgrade Checklist
- How to Add SOLIDWORKS Routing Library to a PDM Vault
- PDM Vault Size Management Options
- Show all articles ( 2 ) Collapse Articles
-
- PDM Administrators: Roles and Responsibilities
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Admin User Explained (System Administrator)
- How to Export PDM User List
- How to Delete a PDM User Completely
- How to Restore Deleted SOLIDWORKS PDM Users
- Ignore Permissions in Previous States and When to use it
- PDM Web2 Download Permissions
- How to Reset Your SOLIDWORKS PDM Admin Password
- How to Create New PDM Users
- How to Create New PDM Windows Users
- How to Change PDM Login Type
- How to Change a PDM User Password
- How to Transfer Ownership of PDM Files
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Permissions Required to View Files in a Vault
-
- PDM Task List and How to Use It to Monitor Tasks
- How to Clear Pending Tasks in PDM
- How to Configure a Computer to be a PDM Task Host
- How to Setup a Dedicated Unattended Task Host
- Troubleshooting SOLIDWORKS PDM Tasks
- How to Resolve “Workflow States Exceeds Permissible Limit” - SOLIDWORKS
- How to Resolve The Current SOLIDWORKS Task Add-in is Unsupported
-
- PDM Backup Procedures
- SOLIDWORKS PDM: Moving Server Components - Checklist
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Connectivity Test Tool
- How to Configure the Local HOSTS file to Resolve Server Name
- How to Test PDM Connection with a Ping Test
- Adding a PDM Vault View with a Windows Azure Active Directory Account
- How to reset the SQL password for the PDM Vault SQL Server
- Update Credentials for PDM Archive Server
- Update Credentials for PDM Database Server
- How To Relocate Vault Archive Folders To Another Drive
- How to use PDM Database Upgrade Tool
- Change SQL Server License
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Cleaner Service and How it Works
- How to Create ODBC Connection for SOLIDWORKS PDM Manually
- How to Change SOLIDWORKS PDM Database Recovery Model
- How to Shrink the SOLIDWORKS PDM SQL Transaction Log
- Show all articles ( 1 ) Collapse Articles
-
- How to Upgrade SOLIDWORKS PDM Add-ins
- How to manually install SOLIDWORKS PDM Microsoft Office Add-in
- How to Reregister Add-ins for PDM Clients
- How to Clear Local Cache in a SOLIDWORKS PDM Local Vault View and Why
- How to Change PDM Client License Type after Installation
- How to Perform a Clean Reinstall of SOLIDWORKS PDM Client
- Understanding Differences between PDM Clients
-
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Enter a Valid Account for this Resource
- How to Delete or Recreate a Local Vault View
- How to manually remove a disconnected PDM Vault View
- Troubleshooting PDM Notifications
- How to Resolve Invalid Class Error for eDrawings and PDM Preview
- How to Reset Web2 Authentication in IIS
- Common SOLIDWORKS PDM License Errors and How to Resolve Them
- How to Identify Your SOLIDWORKS PDM Infrastructure
- SOLIDWORKS PDM File Remains Read-Only After Check Out
-
-
Simulation
-
- Do I Need Non-linear Simulation?
- How to Choose a SOLIDWORKS Simulation Solver
- Getting Started with Simulation
- Important Mesh Theory to Accurately Run your Finite Element Analysis Simulations
- Is SOLIDWORKS Simulation Accurate?
- Which Type of Elements Should I Use?
- SOLIDWORKS Simulation Meshing Guide
- The Basics of Setting Up a Study in Simulation
-
- Setting Up Default Options for SOLIDWORKS Simulation
- Submodeling Studies – The What, Why, & How of Using Them in SOLIDWORKS Simulation
- How to add Hydrostatic Load
- What To Do When you get the “Excessive Displacement” Warning in SOLIDWORKS Simulation
- How to Create Temperature Dependent Custom Materials in SOLIDWORKS Simulation
- How to Duplicate and Reuse Simulation Study Data
- How to Export Flow Simulation Results to Import into FEA
- Automatically Refine Your Mesh Using H-adaptive Meshing | SOLIDWORKS
-
SOLIDWORKS Administration Overview
So, you’ve been tasked with administering SOLIDWORKS. Now, where do you start to make sure your team is organized and productive in a consistent environment? This article is intended to provide SOLIDWORKS administrators with an overview of the high-level topics they should take into consideration to help ensure they are successful at implementing SOLIDWORKS for a single user or large team of many users.
Hardware and System Requirements
Before SOLIDWORKS can be installed, hardware and system requirements should be reviewed to ensure the computers can install and run SOLIDWORKS products. It is also helpful to know hardware and system requirements vary year over year, so the best practice is to review the requirements annually.
SOLIDWORKS has specific operating system and software requirements. Follow this link to review the SOLIDWORKS System Requirements
SOLIDWORKS relies on 3 main components to run efficiently: Processor (CPU), Random Access Memory (RAM), and Graphics Processing Unit (GPU). Follow this link to review the SOLIDWORKS Hardware Guide with additional information as to how SOLIDWORKS uses the hardware components
Installation
SOLIDWORKS products can be purchased and installed using a variety of license types and methods. This article will focus on standalone and network licensing. The serial number(s) you purchased determine if they will be installed as a standalone seat or installed and distributed from a server over a network.
Regardless of the license type and product to install, all SOLIDWORKS installations begin by downloading the SOLIDWORKS Installation manager from the Customer Portal. Follow this link to instructions for downloading the SOLIDWORKS Installation Manager
Alternatively, follow this link for instructions to request a manual download
Note, SOLIDWORKS installation requires Windows local admin permissions to write to certain Windows registry keys. Follow this link for detailed information regarding what Windows admin permissions are required and why
Standalone/Individual (serial numbers which begin with 900)
Standalone installations are installed and activated on a single computer. Best practice is to maintain a simple spreadsheet to record each serial number and which computer it is installed on. Follow this link for standalone installation instructions
Instructions for modifying SOLIDWORKS installation to switch serial numbers or installed products
Network (serial numbers which begin with 901)
Network serial numbers are installed and activated on a server and then distributed to client computers using the SolidNetWork License Manager (SNL). Each client computer must have access to the SNL server using the same network or configured to access the server remotely using a Virtual Private Network (VPN). Follow this link for detailed instructions for installing the SNL as well as connecting client computers to the server.
Instructions to modify SNL to add serial numbers
Administrative Image
For SOLIDWORKS environments with 5+ SOLIDWORKS installations. The administrative image can be used with either standalone or network serial numbers. We recommend considering the SOLIDWORKS Administrative Image as a tool to install and manage specific client options, such as serial number, system options, and file locations. Follow this link for detailed instructions for creating and deploying an administrative image
Upgrade
Each year SOLIDWORKS releases a major version of the software followed by 5-service packs throughout the year. Best practice is to keep up with updates as they become available. In a collaborative environment, all users must be on the same major version of the software, though they can be running different service packs of the same major version.
- Standalone installations can be upgraded directly from within SOLIDWORKS by selecting Help > Check for Updates, or by downloading and installing the newest major version or service pack from the Customer Portal. Follow this link for short video instructions to quickly update SOLIDWORKS
- Network installations can be upgraded following the same process as Standalone installation except the SolidNetWork License manager (SNL) must be upgraded first or the client computers will not be able to obtain a license. Follow this link for instructions
- Administrative image installations are managed by the administrative image. Downloading and creating a new version of the administrative image will automatically upgrade the client computers. Reference the “Upgrading to a new Service Pack” section of the SOLIDWORKS Admin Image Deployment guide
System Options > File Locations
To ensure a consistent design environment, SOLIDWORKS administrators should consider organizing a network location for SOLIDWORKS document templates and other ancillary files, such as material databases, weldment profiles, appearances, etc.
The various file locations can be set within SOLIDWORKS by selecting Tools > Options > System Options > File Locations. Below is a list of commonly used and shared files which should be considered:
- Document Templates
- BOM Templates
- Custom Property Files
- Drafting Standards
- Material Databases
- Revision Table Templates
- Sheet Formats
- Weldment Cut List Templates
- Weldment Profiles
- Any other custom template type which should be consistent between users in your organization.
System Options > Hole Wizard Toolbox
- SOLIDWORKS Standard includes Hole Wizard.
- SOLIDWORKS Professional and Premium versions include Hole Wizard and Toolbox.
SOLIDWORKS Hole Wizard and Toolbox are installed by default to the same database and folder ‘C:\SOLIDWORKS Data’. There are numerous benefits of using these massive predefined standard libraries across multiple users. Best practice is to consider relocating the SOLIDWORKS Data folder to a shared network location and then update the file location in SOLIDWORKS using the shared location’s UNC path in Tools > Options > System Options> Hole Wizard / Toolbox.
Once the Hole Wizard and Toolbox are configured for your organization, we recommend password protecting the database and assigning only the admin and/or specific power user(s) to manage changes to the databases. This will ensure a consistent environment with limited chase for data loss due to unnecessary or accidental changes.
Consider maintaining a backup routine for the SOLIDWORKS Data folder, especially prior to making any major changes to the database or settings.
Troubleshooting
If you are experiencing unexpected, machine-specific behavior with SOLIDWORKS products installed using the SOLIDWORKS Installation Manager, you can use a special SOLIDWORKS repair tool to attempt repairing the installation. While a repair is not intended to target specific symptoms, it is a good broad-stroke tool to employ at first if you encounter odd behavior before considering a clean reinstall.
Repair instructions (written and video)
If you need to remove SOLIDWORKS completely, follow these instructions for a clean uninstall
Contact MLC CAD Systems Technical Support
The link below connects to our SOLIDWORKS Technical Support Request web form for new support requests. This form is entered directly into our support queue and then handled on a first-come-first-serve basis. Or you can send an email with attachments to solidworkssupport@mlc-cad.com or call us directly at 800-364-1652 x2