Skip to main content
You are here:

PDM Undo Check Out of Files by Other User

A commonly asked question from SOLIDWORKS PDM  admins and PDM users is how to release a file checked out by another user, e.g., the checked out user is on vacation, a previous employee is no longer with the company, a file is checked out on a computer which is no longer accessible, or a variety of other reasons why a local vault view is not accessible. 

 

Prior to PDM 2018, users could undo checkout of their own files, and the default ‘admin’ user was the only user account which could undo checkout of files checked out by other users. Starting with PDM 2018, a new administrative permission was added ‘Can undo check out of files checked out by other user’ to grant permissions to allow users other than admin to undo checkout from any user. 

How Does PDM Know Where a File is Checked Out

When a file is checked out from the vault, the PDM database stores information about which user, client computer and vault view that file is checked out on.  When an attempt to check the file back into the vault is triggered, the previously stored checkout information is matched against the check in information to ensure the file is being checked in from the same client view and computer.  If an attempt is made to check in a file that was checked out from a different file vault view, the system will display a warning ‘The file is checked out on another computer’ or ‘The file is checked out by another user’ to indicate the information doesn’t match. This will block the file from being checked into the vault.  

Undo Checkout Process

Right-click a file checked out by another user and then select Undo Check Out. If the logged in PDM user does not have the permission, this option will be greyed out. 

 

In the Undo Check Out dialog, note the Warnings column displays the file is checked out by another user or on another computer. Select the checkbox next to the file(s) in the Undo Check Out column and then click the Undo Check Out button. 

PDM Undo Check Out of Files by Other User

A conformation dialog will display the file’s path and checked out computer and user information along with a message ‘Undo check out operation discards the local file changes.’ Select Yes or Yes to All to proceed. 

PDM Undo Check Out of Files by Other User

Once the check in is complete, an event is recorded in the file’s history dialog (right-click a file and select History to view the history dialog). 

PDM Undo Check Out of Files by Other User

Undo Check Out Permissions

This undo check out permission can be set per user or group in Administrative Permissions, ‘Can undo check out files checked out by other users.’ 

PDM Undo Check Out of Files by Other User

There is an additional permission which also needs reviewed to ensure the check in operation is set to display a warning only and does not block the check in operation. 

 

Review the user or group properties Warnings category. Set the ‘Affected operation’ dropdown to ‘Check In’ and then ensure the option ‘The file is checked out by another user’ and ‘The file is checked out on another computer’ are not enabled. If these options are enabled, then it will block users from performing the Undo Check Out operation. 

PDM Undo Check Out of Files by Other User

Example of the Undo Check Out dialog with warning ‘The file is checked out by another user’ enabled to block check in. Note the red stop sign icon and the Undo Check Out button is greyed out. 

PDM Undo Check Out of Files by Other User

Additional Resources

Technical Support

Get help from our team by Calling us at 800-364-1652 x 2. You can also get assistance by clicking the Technical Support button or the Email Our Experts button below. 

Scroll to Top