-
Installation, Licensing & Deployment
-
- SOLIDWORKS Individual Installation
- How to Modify Your SOLIDWORKS Installation
- How to Repair Your SOLIDWORKS Installation
- Performing a Clean Uninstall
- How to Quickly Update SOLIDWORKS to a Newer Service Pack
- How to Upgrade SOLIDWORKS Standard to Professional or Premium
- How to Install Multiple Versions of SOLIDWORKS on One Computer
-
- SOLIDWORKS SolidNetwork License Manager Overview
- How to Install SolidNetwork License Manager
- How to Set Up and Manage SOLIDWORKS Network Licensing
- How to Upgrade SolidNetWork License Manager
- Moving from SOLIDWORKS Standalone to Network Licenses
- Use Options File to Reserve Licenses for Specific Users
- Reserve Licenses with Options File
- SOLIDWORKS SolidNetWork License Order Guide
- How to Reactivate SOLIDWORKS Network Licenses
- How to Move the SOLIDWORKS SolidNetWork License Manager to a New Server
- How to add or remove network serial numbers
- Windows Firewall Exceptions for SOLIDWORKS Network Based Products
- How to Perform a Clean Reinstall of SolidNetWork License manager (SNL)
- How to Find and Review the SOLIDWORKS SolidNetWork License Manager Log File
-
- DraftSight Enterprise - Admin Image Creation
- SOLIDWORKS Electrical Install and Upgrade Guide
- How to Install and Configure SOLIDWORKS Visualize Boost
- How to Install eDrawings
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS Composer
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS Inspection
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS Visualize
- How To Install SOLIDWORKS Routing Add-In
- How to Perform a Clean Reinstall of DraftSight
- DraftSight System Requirements
- How to Install DraftSight
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS MBD
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS Simulation Products
-
- How to Request a Manual Download for SOLIDWORKS
- How to Resolve Windows Reboot is Pending
- SOLIDWORKS Installation Log Files
- Troubleshooting SOLIDWORKS Installation Issues
- Why Users Need Local Admin Rights to Install SOLIDWORKS
- “A Newer Version of This Product is Already Installed” Error when Installing SOLIDWORKS
- Blank SOLIDWORKS Installation Manager - Resolution
- “The Source Folder Is Not Versioned Properly…” Error when Modifying Serial Number
- How to Reset DraftSight Settings to Resolve Unexpected Behavior
-
Customer Portal & Resources
- SOLIDWORKS and 3DEXPERIENCE Customer Portal Directory
- How to Register MySolidworks Professional Serial Number
- SOLIDWORKS Customer Portal Replaced by DSx Client Care
- How to Add Contacts and Assign Roles in DSx Client Care - 3DEXPERIENCE
- MyProducts.solidworks.com Overview
- How to Get FREE Certification Testing with an Active Subscription
- 3DS SOLIDWORKS Knowledge Base
-
SOLIDWORKS
-
- How To Upgrade SOLIDWORKS Toolbox Manually
- How to Turn Off the SOLIDWORKS Toolbox Flag
- How to Add Custom Parts to SOLIDWORKS Toolbox
- How to Install, Move, or Recreate the SOLIDWORKS Toolbox
- SOLIDWORKS Toolbox Settings Overview
- How to Create a New Default SOLIDWORKS Toolbox or Hole Wizard Folder
- How to Move SOLIDWORKS Toolbox to a Shared Network Directory
-
- How to Adjust Annotation Formatting and Spacing
- How to turn off drawing detail mode data
- SOLIDWORKS Performance Evaluation - DRAWINGS
- Apply Sheet Format to New Sheets Automatically
- Difference Between Drawing Templates and Sheet Formats
- SOLIDWORKS Multi-sheet Custom Properties Source
- How to set the base scale when exporting DXF/DXG Drawings from SOLIDWORKS
-
- How to Update SOLIDWORKS File Locations After Upgrading
- SOLIDWORKS Composer Backup Options
- How to create SOLIDWORKS Part, Assembly, and Drawing Templates
- SOLIDWORKS Administration Overview
- Utilizing Cloud Storage with SOLIDWORKS
- How to Use Save As with References
- How to Use SOLIDWORKS Pack and Go
- SOLIDWORKS Backup and Recovery System Options
- SOLIDWORKS Copy Settings Wizard
- Understanding SOLIDWORKS Settings and Templates
- How to Ensure that You are Running a SOLIDWORKS Certified Graphics Card Driver
- SOLIDWORKS Export Formats Explained: STEP vs Parasolid
- SOLIDWORKS Circular References and How to Find Them
- How to Improve SOLIDWORKS Performance Using Feature Freeze
-
- Essential SOLIDWORKS Hotkeys and Shortcuts
- SOLIDWORKS Search Routine Order
- Viewing SOLIDWORKS Configurations in eDrawings
- How to Create a Custom Material in SOLIDWORKS
- Accessing Xpress Tools
- How to Enable or Disable SOLIDWORKS Add-ins
- Rebuild Types and How They Work
- Save As Previous SOLIDWORKS Version Files
- SOLIDWORKS 3D Interconnect Options
- SOLIDWORKS How to Display Dimensions as Fractions
- Where Used with SOLIDWORKS File Utilities
- SOLIDWORKS Keyboard/Mouse Shortcut Reference
- Non-Matching Internal ID
- How to Delete Faces in SOLIDWORKS
-
- Correcting foreign language characters in the FeatureManager Tree
- Could not obtain a license for SOLIDWORKS CAM. Invalid (inconsistent) license key
- "Error obtaining License (-85, 147, 0)"
- How to Collect CXPAs
- How To Correct The "Default Templates Are Not Valid" Error
- How to Force SOLIDWORKS to Use Your Graphics Card
- How To Reset SOLIDWORKS Registry
- How to Restore Dismissed SOLIDWORKS Messages
- Resolution to Common File Location Errors
- Resolve "Sheet Format Could Not Be Located"
- Restore Your File Associations
- How to Troubleshoot Graphical Issues
- Troubleshooting Weldment Cut List Consolidation
- SOLIDWORKS Tech Tip: Correcting Symbol Library Location
- SOLIDWORKS Journal File Could Not Be Created
- SOLIDWORKS login Manager Error and How to Fix It
- CEF for SOLIDWORKS Error and How to Fix It
- SOLIDWORKS Document Manager Library is Invalid and How to Fix It
- How to Find Windows Event Logs for Technical Support
- Show all articles ( 4 ) Collapse Articles
-
- SOLIDWORKS RX - The Ultimate CAD Diagnostic Tool
- SOLIDWORKS Safe Modes
- How to Change the SOLIDWORKS Language
- How to Modify the Reference/Update Dialog Dismissal Time
- How to Run SOLIDWORKS with Administrator Permissions
- SOLIDWORKS Educational Resources
- Automate File Exports with Task Scheduler
- Default SOLIDWORKS File Locations
- How to Add Fonts in SOLIDWORKS
- How To Tell Who Has a SOLIDWORKS File Open
- SOLIDWORKS Performance Evaluation - Assemblies
- SOLIDWORKS Performance Evaluation - Parts
- SOLIDWORKS ProgramData Location and Visibility
-
-
3DEXPERIENCE
-
- Moving Your Local Work Folder for 3DEXPERIENCE
- 3DEXPERIENCE Local Cache and How to Manage It
- Storing SOLIDWORKS Templates on 3DEXPERIENCE Platform
- How to Delete Files and Objects in 3DEXPERIENCE Collaborative Spaces
- How to Export as 3DEXPERIENCE Package File and Share
- How to Import a Package File with 3DEXPERIENCE Exchange Add-in
- Work Offline in 3DEXPERIENCE
-
- How to Use 3DEXPERIENCE Troubleshooting Machine for Web
- 3DEXPERIENCE Connection Status and How to Fix It
- How to Disable 3DEXPERIENCE Login Prompt in SOLIDWORKS
- How To Update Browser Security Settings for 3DEXPERIENCE Launcher
- How To Resolve 3DEXPERIENCE SOLIDWORKS Unable to Retrieve Install Data Error
-
PDM
-
- PDM License Type Matrix
- PDM Automatic Login Options
- Create Local Vault View Shortcut
- PDM Gray Folders and Local Files
- PDM - What are Private State Files?
- Difference Between Versions and Revisions
- What's The Difference Between PDM Local Version and Revision Variable
- PDM - What are Version Free Variables?
- What is a Drawing Node in PDM?
- Difference Between Delete and Destroy in PDM
- PDM How to Work in Off-line Mode
- How to Install PDM Client Software
- Create Local Vault View
- Create Local PDM Vault View Using .cvs File
- ___SOLIDWORKS PDM / Manage Installation Guide (PDF)
- Install Microsoft SQL 2019 for PDM Professional
- PDM Server Recommendations
- Understanding Save, Check In, and Get Latest Version in SOLIDWORKS PDM
- Show all articles ( 3 ) Collapse Articles
-
- How to Use PDM Move Tree
- How to Use PDM Copy Tree
- How To Overwrite Latest PDM Version
- Updating File References in PDM
- Copy and Paste as Reference in PDM
- PDM Branch and Merge Overview
- Selecting Child References Automatically in SOLIDWORKS PDM
- SOLIDWORKS Settings for PDM File Import
- PDM How to Rollback a File to a Previous Version
- PDM Undo Check Out of Files by Other User
- Unable to Delete Files from the PDM Vault
- How to Update Values from a PDM Folder to Multiple Files
- What are Virtual Documents in SOLIDWORKS PDM?
- SOLIDWORKS Strategies for Using the File Version Upgrade Tool (FVUT)
- PDM File Version Upgrade Tool
- How to Upgrade SOLIDWORKS Toolbox in PDM - AUTOMATICALLY
- How to Upgrade SOLIDWORKS Toolbox in PDM - MANUALLY
- PDM File Version Icons and What They Mean
- How to Determine the Number of Files in PDM
- Show all articles ( 4 ) Collapse Articles
-
- Exporting and Importing PDM Vault Settings
- How to Change PDM Date Formatting
- How to Control Get Version Commands
- How to Setup Toolbox in PDM - SOLIDWORKS
- PDM Cold Storage and How To Use It
- PDM Setting Cache Options Automatically
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Warning Settings
- What are PDM File Categories and How to Change Them
- How to Block Log-ins for PDM Vault Maintenance
- Hide When Sibling Parallel Transition is Chosen
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Child Reference State Conditions
- How to Install SOLIDWORKS PDM Standard
- How to Create a SANDBOX Vault for Testing SOLIDWORKS PDM
- How To Relocate An Existing SOLIDWORKS Vault View To Another Drive
- PDM Upgrade Checklist
- How to Add SOLIDWORKS Routing Library to a PDM Vault
- PDM Vault Size Management Options
- Show all articles ( 2 ) Collapse Articles
-
- PDM Administrators: Roles and Responsibilities
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Admin User Explained (System Administrator)
- How to Export PDM User List
- How to Delete a PDM User Completely
- How to Restore Deleted SOLIDWORKS PDM Users
- Ignore Permissions in Previous States and When to use it
- PDM Web2 Download Permissions
- How to Reset Your SOLIDWORKS PDM Admin Password
- How to Create New PDM Users
- How to Create New PDM Windows Users
- How to Change PDM Login Type
- How to Change a PDM User Password
- How to Transfer Ownership of PDM Files
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Permissions Required to View Files in a Vault
-
- PDM Task List and How to Use It to Monitor Tasks
- How to Clear Pending Tasks in PDM
- How to Configure a Computer to be a PDM Task Host
- How to Setup a Dedicated Unattended Task Host
- Troubleshooting SOLIDWORKS PDM Tasks
- How to Resolve “Workflow States Exceeds Permissible Limit” - SOLIDWORKS
- How to Resolve The Current SOLIDWORKS Task Add-in is Unsupported
-
- PDM Backup Procedures
- SOLIDWORKS PDM: Moving Server Components - Checklist
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Connectivity Test Tool
- How to Configure the Local HOSTS file to Resolve Server Name
- How to Test PDM Connection with a Ping Test
- Adding a PDM Vault View with a Windows Azure Active Directory Account
- How to reset the SQL password for the PDM Vault SQL Server
- Update Credentials for PDM Archive Server
- Update Credentials for PDM Database Server
- How To Relocate Vault Archive Folders To Another Drive
- How to use PDM Database Upgrade Tool
- Change SQL Server License
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Cleaner Service and How it Works
- How to Create ODBC Connection for SOLIDWORKS PDM Manually
- How to Change SOLIDWORKS PDM Database Recovery Model
- How to Shrink the SOLIDWORKS PDM SQL Transaction Log
- Show all articles ( 1 ) Collapse Articles
-
- How to Upgrade SOLIDWORKS PDM Add-ins
- How to manually install SOLIDWORKS PDM Microsoft Office Add-in
- How to Reregister Add-ins for PDM Clients
- How to Clear Local Cache in a SOLIDWORKS PDM Local Vault View and Why
- How to Change PDM Client License Type after Installation
- How to Perform a Clean Reinstall of SOLIDWORKS PDM Client
- Understanding Differences between PDM Clients
-
- SOLIDWORKS PDM Enter a Valid Account for this Resource
- How to Delete or Recreate a Local Vault View
- How to manually remove a disconnected PDM Vault View
- Troubleshooting PDM Notifications
- How to Resolve Invalid Class Error for eDrawings and PDM Preview
- How to Reset Web2 Authentication in IIS
- Common SOLIDWORKS PDM License Errors and How to Resolve Them
- How to Identify Your SOLIDWORKS PDM Infrastructure
- SOLIDWORKS PDM File Remains Read-Only After Check Out
-
-
Simulation
-
- Do I Need Non-linear Simulation?
- How to Choose a SOLIDWORKS Simulation Solver
- Getting Started with Simulation
- Important Mesh Theory to Accurately Run your Finite Element Analysis Simulations
- Is SOLIDWORKS Simulation Accurate?
- Which Type of Elements Should I Use?
- SOLIDWORKS Simulation Meshing Guide
- The Basics of Setting Up a Study in Simulation
-
- Setting Up Default Options for SOLIDWORKS Simulation
- Submodeling Studies – The What, Why, & How of Using Them in SOLIDWORKS Simulation
- How to add Hydrostatic Load
- What To Do When you get the “Excessive Displacement” Warning in SOLIDWORKS Simulation
- How to Create Temperature Dependent Custom Materials in SOLIDWORKS Simulation
- How to Duplicate and Reuse Simulation Study Data
- How to Export Flow Simulation Results to Import into FEA
- Automatically Refine Your Mesh Using H-adaptive Meshing | SOLIDWORKS
-
How to Move SOLIDWORKS Toolbox to a Shared Network Directory
The SOLIDWORKS Toolbox is a configurable library of standard hardware components, allowing users to drag and drop commonly used parts directly into assemblies. By default, Toolbox is stored locally, but in a multi-user environment, it should be moved to a shared network location to ensure consistency between designers when collaborating, prevent duplicate parts, and centralize management of the data.
This guide walks through the process of moving an existing Toolbox / Hole Wizard database to a shared network directory and reconfiguring SOLIDWORKS clients to use it.
Note: The SOLIDWORKS Hole Wizard database is stored in the same location as the Toolbox. Moving one moves them both.
Local Toolbox location > SOLIDWORKS will display yellow message:
“Toolbox is currently installed on this computer. While that is acceptable for a single user environment, it is not the recommended setup for a multiple user environment.”
Shared Network location > SOLIDWORKS will display green message:
“Toolbox is properly installed for a multiple user environment.”
Considerations Before Moving Toolbox
- Choose which SOLIDWORKS user’s Toolbox to move or create a default copy.
- All users are on the same major version of SOLIDWORKS.
- You have full administrative access to the Toolbox folder and network location.
- The designation network location is accessible to all users (read/write permissions).
- If using PDM, coordinate with your PDM administrator as your Toolbox may be managed differently in PDM.
Step 1: Locate the Current SOLIDWORKS Toolbox
- Open SOLIDWORKS on a workstation currently using Toolbox / Hole Wizard.
- Go to: Tools > Options > System Options > Hole Wizard/Toolbox
- Note the current Toolbox folder path. The default location is C:\SOLIDWORKS Data
Step 2: Copy Toolbox to Network Location
- Navigate to the folder from step 1.
- Copy the entire SOLIDWORKS Data folder to a shared network location.
Important:
- Copy (do not Move) to preserve a backup.
- Ensure all files, subfolders, and permissions are retained.
- Use a UNC path (\\Server\Share\Folder) instead of a mapped drive letter (e.g. Z:) to ensure consistency across all users and systems
\\server\SOLIDWORKS Data or \\server\SOLIDWORKS\Toolbox
- The left image below is set to a mapped drive and displays yellow message:
“Toolbox is currently installed on a different computer which is recommended for a multiple user environment. The path however is specified using a mapped drive. Consider using a UNC path” - The right image is set to a UNC path and displays green message:
“Toolbox is properly installed for a multiple user environment.”
- The left image below is set to a mapped drive and displays yellow message:
Step 3: Set Proper Folder Permissions
On the shared folder:
- Grant Read/Write access to all folders and files.
- Restrict modify permissions if you want controlled Toolbox updates (recommended).
Step 4: Update Toolbox Path in SOLIDWORKS
On each SOLIDWORKS client machine:
- Open SOLIDWORKS
- Go to: Tools > Options > System Options > Hole Wizard/Toolbox
- Update the path to the new network location from step 2
- Click OK to accept the change. Note, depending on permissions, Windows may prompt for admin credentials to approve the change.
- Turn ON the option ‘Make this folder the default search location for Toolbox components.’
Step 5: Configure Toolbox Settings (Optional but Recommended)
The SOLIDWORKS Toolbox Settings tool (image below) is used to select and customize hardware as well as set user preferences and permissions. The best practice is to configure SOLIDWORKS Toolbox before using it.
- Launch the Toolbox Settings utility by going to: Tools > Options > System Options > Hole Wizard/Toolbox > Configure
- Alternatively, navigate to Windows Start > All Folders > SOLIDWORKS Tools > Toolbox Settings <version>
- Alternatively, navigate to Windows Start > All Folders > SOLIDWORKS Tools > Toolbox Settings <version>
- Verify:
- Hardware Standards
- Hardware Configurations
- Custom Properties
- Set permissions to restrict editing
Make any necessary adjustments and save.
Step 6: Verify Functionality
- Launch SOLIDWORKS and open an assembly.
- Insert Toolbox components and use the Hole Wizard to test.
- Confirm:
- Parts load from the network location
- No duplicate Toolbox parts are created locally
- Performance is acceptable for the user when accessing Toolbox over the network
Step 7: (If using SOLIDWORKS PDM)
If Toolbox is managed in PDM:
- Toolbox should typically be stored in a non-versioned folder and workflow state or configured via PDM toolbox integration.
- Refer to our guide How to Setup Toolbox in PDM for details.
Best Practices
- Use a dedicated shared location (avoid user directories).
- Restrict access to a few administrators to prevent accidental changes.
- Maintain regular backups of the Toolbox folder.
- Do not mix local and network Toolbox paths across users.
- Update Toolbox when SOLIDWORKS is upgraded then test. Always create a backup of customized Toolboxes prior to upgrading.
Troubleshooting
- Duplicate Toolbox Parts
- Caused by inconsistent Toolbox paths across users.
- Ensure all users point to the same network location.
- Duplicate Toolbox Parts
- Read Only Errors
- Caused by insufficient permissions.
- Verify network share permission.
- Read Only Errors
- Slow Performance
- Caused by network latency.
- User high-speed LAN of local caching strategies.
- Slow Performance
- Missing Toolbox Components
- Caused by incomplete copy.
- Re-copy Toolbox and verify all files exist.
- Alternatively, you can copy the Toolbox folder locally, update the file path in SOLIDWORKS, then test opening the same assembly to try and determine if the behavior is network/permissions or the Toolbox in general.
- Missing Toolbox Components
Technical Support
Get help from our team by Calling us at 800-364-1652. You can also get assistance by clicking the Technical Support button or the Email Our Experts button below.