How to Delete a PDM User Completely
PDM How to Delete a PDM User Completely
When a SOLIDWORKS PDM user is created in the vault, the user is stored in the PDM database and Windows registry on the archive server. When a user is deleted using the SOLIDWORKS PDM Administration tool, the user is removed from the PDM database, though the user is still listed when adding new users since the information exists in the registry on the archive server to be added again or to a new vault.
In the example below, user MANAGER-1 was removed from the vault but still displays as an available user. If you wanted to add MANAGER-1 to another vault, then no action is necessary. To completely delete a PDM user, a registry value on the archive server must also be deleted.
CAUTION: Incorrectly editing the registry can severely damage your operating system. The SOLIDWORKS Technical Support team strongly suggests that you back up the registry data before making any changes to the registry.
Steps to Delete a User Completely
1) On the archive server, launch the Registry Editor by selecting Windows Start > Windows Administrative Tools > Registry Editor
2) Navigate to the key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\SolidWorks\Applications\PDMWorks Enterprise\ArchiveServer\ConisioUsers
3) Locate the user and delete the value
4) After the registry value is deleted, the SOLIDWORKS PDM user should no longer display when adding new users.
Note for Replicated Environments
n a replicated environment, it’s likely to be using vault specific login, in these instances, the user account will be found under a different registry key:
What if you accidentally delete the wrong key?
If SOLIDWORKS PDM user registry value is deleted accidentally for the wrong user, then the user will not be able to log into PDM. The example below displays a login error because the registry value for user named ENG-2 was deleted accidentally.
To restore the user, have the PDM admin user assign a new password for that user in the SOLIDWORKS PDM Administration Tool > right-click the user > Open > Set Password. After the password is assigned, the user node refreshes, and the registry key is replaced. The user can now long into PDM again.
If you have any questions or experience unexpected behavior, feel free to reach out to MLC CAD Systems technical support.