White MLC Logo
Search
Close this search box.
Search
Close this search box.
Search
Close this search box.
You are here:

Difference Between Delete and Destroy in PDM

When files are deleted in SOLIDWORKS PDM, the system moves the files to the parent folder’s recycle bin where they remain until they are destroyed. Files in the PDM recycle bin can be recovered to their original location or destroyed (removed permanently). 

 

NOTE: The SOLIDWORKS PDM Destroy tool will permanently remove the deleted files. Destroyed files and folders cannot be recovered. 

 

Use the Destroy command with caution. When a file is destroyed, it does more than just remove the physical file from the folder. The record is also removed from the SQL database and the file is removed from the archive. This clears up space in the database and on the disk, but also destroys the file. The difference between doing a delete or destroy can be critical to how you recover from a mistake. 

 

User Permissions 

How to Destroy or Recover Deleted Files 

Duplicate Files Names 

PDM Performance with Deleted Items 

User Permissions

Delete: this permission can be granted to any user/group who can choose to delete a file (move a file to the recycle bin). 

    • User/Group > Folder Permissions, choose the file, and select ‘Delete file’. 
    • User/Group > State Permissions, choose the state, and select ‘Delete file’. 

 

Destroy: to avoid accidentally destroying a file that may need to be recovered later, it’s best practice to not assign Destroy permission to every user. Consider assigning this permission to the PDM ‘admin’ or other admin users only. 

    • User/Group > Folder Permissions, choose the file and select ‘Destroy file’. 
    • User/Group > State Permissions, choose the state, and select ‘Destroy file’. 

 

Recover: this permission can be granted to any user/group who can choose to recover a file (move it back to the original folder from where it was deleted). 

    • User/Group > Folder Permissions, choose the file and select ‘Recover files from the recycle bin’. 
Difference Between Delete and Destroy in PDM (1)

How to Destroy or Recover Deleted Files

Right-click any folder in PDM and select Properties. From the Deleted Items tab, right-click a file and select Destroy or Recover. If the file was deleted from a sub-folder, click the option to ‘Include items in sub-folders’ to view the full list. 

 

Note: you can also select the top-level folder in PDM to view and manage ALL deleted files for the entire vault. 

Difference Between Delete and Destroy in PDM (2)

Duplicate Files Names

If when checking a file into PDM you receive the message, ‘a file with this name already exists in the vault’, and you perform a search and cannot find this file, then it’s possible a file of the same name already exists in the Deleted Items. 

To check in the new file, the deleted file must be destroyed. 

 

Note: if the file is not in the Deleted Items list, check with your PDM admin to verify the logged-in PDM user has appropriate permissions to view the searched-for file. Consider having the admin perform the same search using their permissions. 

PDM Performance

Information about deleted files is stored in a Microsoft SQL table named ‘dbo.HistoryDelete’. Each entry in the dbo.HistoryDelete table is analyzed whenever the database is queried or added to, which can affect database table that contains information such as variable values, revisions, file history, and more. 

 

Regularly reviewing and choosing to destroy deleted files that are no longer needed is considered a best practice for optimizing your SOLIDWORKS PDM Performance. 

Technical Support

Get help from our team by Calling us at 800-364-1652 x 2. You can also get assistance by clicking the Technical Support button or the Email Our Experts button below. 

Scroll to Top